This week's assignment was primarily focused around Twitter. You can follow me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/themillers15. However, I will admit, I am not a social media fan, so there probably won't be many Tweets from me!

Rank 3 Organizations using Twitter:

Three organizations that I followed for this assignment were Kohl's, Bath and Body Works and Starbucks. It's very difficult to determine who was at the top of my list between Kohl's and Bath and Body Works. They both do an outstanding job. Both of these companies Tweet regularly (several times a day). They are exceptional at advertising their sales and any promotions that are going on at the moment.  They definately don't let you forget that they exist. I guess if I had to pick one to be on top it would be Bath and Body Works. The only reason being that they add very 'pretty' pictures to their tweets where as Kohl's is more generic looking. Not nearly as attractive. As far as Starbuck's goes, they were definately in last place. I think I saw one tweet from them all week. Which really surprised me. I don't think that they were effective at all.

Guidelines for effective use of Twitter:

I think some good guidlines for effectively using Twitter would be: keep them simple and clear, tweet often, consider what you are posting prior to posting it, try to post some fun things that are not just marketing related and lastly interact with your followers!

Is Twitter for your organization?

In thinking about this, it is very difficult to come up with an organization that could not benefit from use of Twitter. The only thing I can come up with is a business where their clientele is of the older generation. I say this because a very low percent of older folks are not what is referred to as being 'connected'. The key to using any form of social media really is the connectivity factor. So I think what it boils down to is if you are in business, have a product to sell and your clients are 'connected' a business would be well suited for Twitter.
 
Other Social Network Platforms:

Yelp
According to Yelp's website: Yelp is an online urban city guide that helps people find cool places to eat, shop, drink, relax and play, based on the informed opinions of a vibrant and active community of locals in the know. Yelp is the fun and easy way to find, review and talk about what's great — and not so great — in your world. From a consumer perspective, this is a wonderful site. Being able to get reviews easily is excellant! I think Yelp has the potential to benefit or hurt a business depending on how well you do your 'thing' as a business. I think it can help a business greatly if they get really good reviews by consumers.

Pinterest
According to Wikipedia: Pinterest is a pinboard-style social photo sharing website that allows users to create and manage theme-based image collections such as events, interests, hobbies, and more. I think this could be very helpful from a marketing perspective because the consumer can see what other people have pinned, get ideas and go out and buy the products. I think the photo aspect of this concept is great. From a user perspective I think this is a great site to inspire people.

Foursquare
This is an app that is loaded to a smart device and uses the GPS functionality for your location. According to Foursquare themselves their users use Foursquare to share and save the places that they visit. When the user is trying to figure out what to do next, Foursquare gives you personalized recommendations and deals based on where the user, their friends, and people with similar tastes have been. Very beneficial to both consumer and the marketer. From a marketing perspective this app will draw business right to your door. From a consumer perspective, you can get deals from just 'checking in' to a location.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Holly M. is a part time student at LCCC taking a social media marketing class.

    Archives

    September 2012

    Categories

    All